Netflix To Stop Password Sharing With Friends

Netflix is changing the way in which it allows you to share your password with friends and family – here’s how it affects you.

Soon, you’ll be able to add an extra member for your Netflix account, allowing up to two different people to have their own account. This will cost a little extra, but will remain less than the cost of two separate Netflix plans.

Netflix is also introducing the ability to transfer user profiles to newer accounts, meaning that people who are sharing passwords can just make their own accounts. It’ll preserve viewing history, curated lists and personalized recommendations.

ADVERT
Credit: Riot Games

In a blog post, Chengyi Long, director of product innovation, had the following to say:

We’ve always made it easy for people who live together to share their Netflix account, with features like separate profiles and multiple streams in our Standard and Premium plans. While these have been hugely popular, they have also created some confusion about when and how Netflix can be shared. As a result, accounts are being shared between households- impacting our ability to invest in great new TV and films for our members.”

We’ll be working to understand the utility of these two features for members in these three countries before making changes anywhere else in the world.”

ADVERT

This is the second time Netflix has tried to crack down on password sharing, after an attempt last year. It remains to be seen whether or not this one will actually stick.

What do you think about Netflix cracking down on password sharing? Let us know across our social channels.

Shop With GameByte!

Don’t forget you can find great games and more on the GameByte Shop! Our store is stocked up with the latest games, merch and accessories. We might even have a new-gen console or two! Sign up to our newsletter to be notified of our console drops, deals and more. Please note the GameByte Shop is available for UK customers only.

ADVERT

Featured Image Credit: Netflix